June 11, 2010

Dear friend,

Last Monday hundreds of neighbors and friends turned out to honor this year’s GVSHP Village Award recipients and celebrate our organization’s 30th anniversary. Guests packed the landmarked Tishman Auditorium at The New School for the ceremony, which was followed by a reception in the charming Forbes Galleries on Fifth Avenue.

Each year, GVSHP offers the Village Awards to celebrate the people, organizations, architecture, small businesses, and restaurants that make the Village and its environs such a remarkable community. This year’s awardees included: Albert Bennett, Caffe Reggio, Lucy Cecere, The High Line, Theatre 80, Veselka, and Westbeth Artists' Housing.

Click here to learn more about this year’s awardees and to view highlights from the evening.

At the ceremony, GVSHP also held its Annual Meeting, during which our members voted to confirm the election of new trustee Kate Bostock Shefferman. We are glad to welcome Kate to GVSHP’s board! We would also like to thank Tom Harney and Peter Mullan for their dedicated service to GVSHP as they step down from the Board of Trustees this year. We look forward to working with Tom and Peter on the important issues affecting our historic neighborhoods.

Thank you to everyone who came out to show their support for our neighborhood institutions and all those who submitted nominations for this year’s awards!


Andrew Berman
Executive Director 

To join GVSHP or support our preservation efforts, visit here.

Connect with GVSHP:

The Greenwich Village Society for Historic Preservation
232 East 11 Street, New York, NY 10003 : 212.475.9585 : gvshp@gvshp.org